Ways to make money while cruising on a small boat.

Started by Gerald A. Gotts, July 06, 2008, 08:57:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Gerald A. Gotts

As I am new to this world of cruising I would like some info. on making some money while cruising.  I don't need much but enough to get by as I don't have many large debts.  An old college friend who lives in his sailboat and cruises the Caribbean told me long ago that there were some ways of making a small amt. of money.  Cutting hair etc.  maybe collecting fish for pet shops?

Jerry    :)

Now..............bring me that horizon

- Jack Sparrow

Bill NH

Maybe think about the skills you already have?  Many times these skills are also needed in the islands or in the cruising community.

And in my experience there's almost always an opportunity for someone who's willing to work hard to earn a few bucks...
125' schooner "Spirit of Massachusetts" and others...

AdriftAtSea

diesel repair, air conditioning repair, electrical repair, plumbing, rigging, fiberglass repair, carpentry, are all possibilities. so are photography, writing, web design, etc.
s/v Pretty Gee
Telstar 28 Trimaran
Yet we get to know her, love her and be loved by her.... get to know about My Life With Gee at
http://blog.dankim.com/life-with-gee
The Scoot—click to find out more

CapnK

I've a friend, on another board, who does refrigeration work in Ohio, and has been doing it for quite some time.

He bought a big boat, 50' or so down in the islands. He spent a lot, most, if not almost all of his retirement money to do so. When he went down on a quick trip to see the boat for the first time in person, he was horrified at what he'd bought. It was really freaking him out. Then, adding insult to injury, *after* he came back to the States, the marina where it was located told him he had 60 days to get it out of there...