News:

Welcome to sailFar! :)   Links: sailFar Gallery, sailFar Home page   

-->> sailFar Gallery Sign Up - Click Here & Read :) <<--

Main Menu

GPS question

Started by Frank, July 30, 2009, 05:41:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Frank

They have Garmin 76's on for $159 here. I've never had a handheld with the little screen (techno phobe) I understand they have some basic maps as delivered and you can download more. My question is "what would be the best handheld figuring in $$ and features with intention of the Bahamas/Caribbean ?"....remembering I'm not a techie and how hard are they to download more info?
God made small boats for younger boys and older men

s/v Faith

Quote from: Frank on July 30, 2009, 05:41:40 PM
They have Garmin 76's on for $159 here. I've never had a handheld with the little screen (techno phobe) I understand they have some basic maps as delivered and you can download more. My question is "what would be the best handheld figuring in $$ and features with intention of the Bahamas/Caribbean ?"....remembering I'm not a techie and how hard are they to download more info?

Frank,

The 76 is just a 72 with a slightly better display (maybe other meaningless features).  I have one as a backup for my Magellan Meridian Marine.  Best use is keeping track of speed / distance and plotting coordinates on a real chart (IMHO)

I can not imagine trying to navigate by the little screen, other then maybe steering to a waypoint.  I understand some of the more modern ones (colorado?) come with the waypoints in their programing... don't know how much I would trust them though.

Maybe I am not the best person to answer since I really don't trust them all that much anyway (although I do use mine).  I will say that if you are looking to step up to a graphic display GPS the 72/76 or even the variations of the 76 MAP are probably not the steps I would look at.

JMHO
Satisfaction is wanting what you already have.

Frank