News:

Welcome to sailFar! :)   Links: sailFar Gallery, sailFar Home page   

-->> sailFar Gallery Sign Up - Click Here & Read :) <<--

Main Menu

Homeschooling your kids?

Started by Squirrel669, October 27, 2011, 04:45:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Squirrel669

Hi my name is Sheryl, I am still pretty new to the sailing community. Nowell and I are in the process of restoring our Albin Vega. We want to live aboard the boat. I am posting today to see if their is any other parents out here that could give me a few pointers in raising your kid (s) aboard as for homeschooling. My son is 11 yrs old and currently in the 5th grade, by the time we get everything up and on the boat he will be a 6th grader.  I have never homeschooled before so this will surely be a new adventure for me as well as Kain. I would just like to know others input as to what helped your kids in the transition and maybe what avenue you approached in home school programs. Doing alot of research into this there seems to be so many to choice from that at times seems abit overwhelming as to which is what. I know it will all come down to as to what is best schedule, program and routine for him, but it is always encouraging to hear how other parents have done this and how their kids have done.

Thanks a Million
Sheryl

skylark

I have heard that many cruisers use the Calvert Academy program.
Paul

Southern Lake Michigan

Captain Smollett

Hi  Sheryl,

I homeschool our children.

Calvert is a popular choice, but I don't like "canned" programs like that.  In my observation, it generally seems to be chosen by homeschooling parents that want everything done 'for them,' so they are essentially administer the education rather than provide it.

We used A Beka initially, then rejected it.  A Beka comes highly touted, but it is mind-numbingly repetitive and full of busy-work.  My daughter hated it and each day, math lessons were met with about 2 hours of screaming and crying.  That's NOT an exaggeration.