News:

Welcome to sailFar! :)   Links: sailFar Gallery, sailFar Home page   

-->> sailFar Gallery Sign Up - Click Here & Read :) <<--

Main Menu

New Sail Covers

Started by ralay, August 15, 2012, 06:25:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ralay

Our new boat came without any sail covers whatsoever.  We bought a used couple-sizes-too-large mainsail cover but would also like some foredeck bags for the hank-on jib and staysail.  I have some experience sewing and am planning on tackling trying to resize the mainsail cover and make a couple of foredeck bags. 

What are your suggestions for the best fabric and the cheapest place to order it?  Unfortunately, we are somewhat locked in to a particular color (khaki) if we want it to match the mainsail cover.  Sunbrella seems the most popular choice, but perhaps there are other options?  For those of you who have done canvas work, what did you buy and where did you buy it?

Also, does anyone have any suggestions for features they would want in sail covers if they had the freedom to do them themselves?  Best closure?  Fancypants convenience features? 

Tim

Sunbrella is most popular because it is hard to beat for the price.

For my small boats I have used http://www.sailrite.com/SurLast-3862-0000-Light-Grey-60 which is also made by GlenRaven that makes Sunbrella but is lighter weight and a bit more breathable I believe. I used this because weight was an issue (I made a boom tent and sailcovers that had to stowed in the Cape Dory Typhoon.)
I think for a larger boat it may not be an advantage, they both run around the same price per yard.

I used velcro and snaps, again because of the smaller lighter boat, probably would use twist locks on something larger.
"Mariah" Pearson Ariel #331, "Chiquita" CD Typhoon, M/V "Wild Blue" C-Dory 25

"The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects it to change; the realist adjusts the sails."
W.A. Ward

CharlieJ